SCHEDULE

Daily Mysore schedule for Ashtanga Yoga Nacogdoches


Ashtanga yoga is practiced 6 days a week (Sunday – Friday). Saturday and Moon Days are rest days. Please consult the MOON DAY schedule at the bottom of the page for rest days. Women should not practice during the first 3 days of their cycle or “Lady’s Holiday“. If you have any questions about Mysore style classes, Led classes or Moon days please CONTACT AMY.

MONDAY


Mysore Style Yoga
5:00 am – 7:00 am

TUESDAY


Mysore Style Yoga
5:00 am – 7:00 am

WEDNESDAY


Mysore Style Yoga
5:00 am – 7:00 am

THURSDAY


Mysore Style Yoga
5:00 am – 7:00 am

FRIDAY


Mysore Style Yoga
5:00 am – 7:00 am

SUNDAY


Mysore Style Yoga
7:00 am – 9:00 am

MOON DAYS 2018


Ashtanga yoga practitioners should not practice on the days of the new or full moon (learn why). The day you rest is the day of your regular practice time nearest the new or full moon. Check the schedule below for observed moon dates.


new moon    full moon

January


Monday, Jan 1
Wednesday, Jan 17

February


Thursday, Feb 1
Thursday, Feb 15

March


Thursday, March 1

Friday, March 16

Friday, March 30

April


Sunday, April 15

Sunday, April 29

May


Tuesday, May 15

Tuesday, May 29

June


Wednesday, June 13

Wednesday, June 27

July


Thursday, July 12

Friday, July 27

August


Saturday, Aug 11

Sunday, Aug 26

September


Sunday, Sep 9

Monday, Sep 24

October


Monday, Oct 8

Wednesday, Oct 24

November


Wednesday, Nov 7

Thursday, Nov 23

December


Friday, Dec 7

Saturday, Dec 22

Both full and new moon days are observed as yoga holidays in the Ashtanga Yoga tradition. What is the reasoning behind this?

Like all things of a watery nature (human beings are about 70% water), we are affected by the phases of the moon. The phases of the moon are determined by the moon’s relative position to the sun. Full moons occur when they are in opposition and new moons when they are in conjunction. Both sun and moon exert a gravitational pull on the earth. Their relative positions create different energetic experiences that can be compared to the breath cycle. The full moon energy corresponds to the end of inhalation when the force of prana is greatest. This is an expansive, upward moving force that makes us feel energetic and emotional, but not well grounded. The Upanishads state that the main prana lives in the head. During the full moon we tend to be more headstrong.

The new moon energy corresponds to the end of exhalation when the force of apana is greatest. Apana is a contracting, downward moving force that makes us feel calm and grounded, but dense and disinclined towards physical exertion.

The Farmers Almanac recommends planting seeds at the new moon when the rooting force is strongest and transplanting at the full moon when the flowering force is strongest. Practicing Ashtanga Yoga over time makes us more attuned to natural cycles. Observing moon days is one way to recognize and honor the rhythms of nature so we can live in greater harmony with it.


SOURCE: ashtanga.com

LADY’S HOLIDAY


Taking rest from practice during menstruation is often referred to as “lady’s holiday”. It is recommended that women take three days of rest from asana practice at the start of their menstrual cycle. There are several reasons for this. First, the purpose of the menstrual cycle is to prepare the body for pregnancy. When conception does not occur, the thickened lining of the uterus is shed through menstruation. One reason to take rest during the menstrual period is that the downward and eliminating flow during this time may be counteracted by inversions in the asana practice. A second reason to take rest is that the engagement of mula bandha is more difficult during heavy menstruation and can counteract this downward flow. Without the proper engagement of bandha, vigorous practice can be physically unsafe. A third reason is that excessive activity can lead to an irregular menstrual cycle or the complete cessation of menstruation (amenorrhea). Menstruation can, therefore, be a wonderful time to rest and allow the body to replenish itself, as it prepares to begin its next cycle. Making time for more restorative practices, including japa and chanting, are often more enjoyable and encouraged during this time. Observing “lady’s holiday” gives women a chance to stay more attuned to the changes in their bodies and adapt their practices in synch with their natural rhythm and cycles.

HOME       ASHTANGA       GUIDELINES       SCHEDULE       TEACHER       CONTACT

INFO@ASHTANGAYOGANACOGDOCHES.COM

MGY2

409 EAST MAIN

NACOGDOCHES, TEXAS

Share This